THE ETHICS OF SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS

The editorial board of the scientific journal "Christianity in the Middle East" in its activities is guided by international standards for the ethics of scientific publications. Decency and monitoring of the quality of published materials is carried out by the editorial board on the basis of the recommendations of the Committee on the Ethics of Scientific Publications (Committee on Publication Ethics).

The editors adhere to the principles of transparency in the selection of articles and the preservation of the reviewers' feedback confidentiality in order to avoid possible conflicts of interest.

Publication of the results of scientific research includes the consistent work of authors, editors and reviewers. The conscientious approach of three participants in the process of drafting articles can ensure high quality of publications, their relevance and innovative character.


LIABILITY OF AUTHORS

Authors offering to publish the results of their scientific research should realize that the publication of their manuscript proceeds from the fact of completeness of the research, its innovative nature and relevance both among scientists and society as a whole. Publications can be both new, previously unknown studies, and the search for new formulations of previously stated scientific problems that require an intensification of the efforts of the scientific community.

  1. Studies should be conducted using methods known to science. If the author resorts to a personal method of research, he must describe it as fully as possible, so that this method of research is understandable to other scientists and readers. The article should contain enough information to verify the author's results.

  2. The authors are responsible for the quality, reliability, completeness of the materials submitted. An indispensable responsibility of the authors is to ensure the accuracy of methods and results of scientific research. Borrowings without a source are regarded as plagiarism and qualify as unethical behavior, which is unacceptable.

  3. The authors are obliged to honestly present the results of scientific research, avoid falsifying any part of their research. Scientific results should be presented clearly and unambiguously to allow understanding and use of their findings by other scientists.

  4. Research should be complete, the authors should not omit inconvenient or contradictory results that have been achieved, even if they do not correspond to the point of view of authors, research sponsors and trends of a specific scientific direction. Persons and organizations that supported the research should not impose a ban on publication of scientific results that contradict their position.

  5. If an error is found in the study, no matter at what stage of the publication the manuscript is located, the authors must immediately notify the editorial office thereof.

  6. The authors are responsible for the accuracy of citing the works of other authors, bringing to them the references used in writing the article. Authors should not copy links from other publications. The citation of any research should be associated with personal work on the source.

  7. Hypotheses, ideas, original formulations created by other authors should be quoted. It is not permissible to present the scientific results of other scientists as created independently.

  8. New results should be presented in the context of previous studies by other scientists. Previous research should be given a fair assessment. Authors should refer to previous studies, regardless of whether they support their position or not. In the case of an expression of disagreement with the hypothesis cited, it is mandatory to present arguments justifying their disagreement.

  9. Authors are obliged to submit for publication original research that has not been published in part or in whole, in other publications and in other languages. In the event that work in one form or another was published in print or electronic media, monographs, teaching aids or read at the conference, it is incumbent on the authors to inform the editorial board about it.

  10. Printing of previously published works is possible in exceptional cases, the relevance of which should be clarified to the readers by the authors. If the research rights have been transferred to the research customer, the publisher or other persons, the authors are required to submit permission to publish.

  11. Authors must comply with copyright laws of their state, the Russian Federation, international standards on the observance of copyright. Authors should indicate all co-authors who are involved in the study, to obtain their consent to publish the materials in the form submitted. The responsibility for the proper attribution of authorship lies with the author, who acts on behalf of the other co-authors.

  12. Obligatory in terms of scientific integrity is to bring an exhaustive list of individuals and organizations that have provided material or indirect support in launching and completing the research; It is important to disclose the role of sponsors.

  13. Authors should cooperate with the editorial staff to correct published work if errors or omissions were discovered after publication.

  14. Authors should respond appropriately to comments after publication. They should try to answer criticism and give explanations or additional details where necessary.

  15. Authors should not submit the results of their research to more than one publisher at the same time.

  16. The authors are obliged to notify the editors if they withdraw (withdraw) the manuscript from consideration.

  17. Authors should not respond to the comments of the reviewer after receiving a recommendation for the publication of the manuscript with the condition of its preliminary correction.

  18. At the request of the editorial staff, the authors must provide evidence that the results of the study were obtained ethically.

  19. Authors should remember that the publication of personal information may be an interference with privacy. Identifying data can be published with the consent of the persons mentioned in the work or their relatives.

  20. Authors should remember the moral responsibility for published research.

LIABILITY OF THE EDITORIAL

The editorial board of the magazine "Christianity in the Middle East" is striving to meet the world standards of publishing activity, presented to scientific journals.

The editors adhere to the international editorial ethics in matters of cooperation with authors, reviewers, the implementation of publications, the correctness and reliability of published materials.

The editorial board seeks maximum encouragement of authors to follow the high standards of manuscripts submitted for publication.

The editorial board considers itself as part of a large professional editorial community, is ready to cooperate with other publishers, for the sake of reliable reflection of ongoing scientific research in the thematic areas of the journal.

  1. The editorial board of the magazine "Christianity in the Middle East" is responsible for the content of the magazine. Responsibility assumes the integrity of the articles, the conformity of their formulation with the unified international practice required for the quality of scientific publications. At all stages of the publication of articles, the editors require a high level of ethical behavior from all of their participants.

  2. The editors are guided by the principles of making fair and unbiased decisions in the implementation of the publication. Defends the principles of editorial independence and consistency of editorial policy.

  3. The editorial board does not take decisions on the basis of commercial or political considerations. In the selection of incoming materials, the editors are guided by the principles of academic dignity, editorial policy, recommendations of reviewers, the appropriateness of filling out the headings.

  4. The editors show an active interest in cooperation with the authors in writing non-trivial articles. Research should be in demand in the scientific community and have innovative content. The editorial staff in every way seeks to encourage the authors to correct articles, according to the recommendations of the reviewers.

  5. The editorial board does not charge a fee from the authors either for accepting the article for publication or for speeding up its publication.

  6. The editorial board does not pay monetary fees.

  7. The editorial staff of the magazine strives to become the leading publication in its subject area, to comply with international publishing standards.

  8. The mission of the magazine is to become a unique international platform for the publication of studies on the situation of the Christian religion in the Middle East since its foundation and up to the present time. The editorial board also considers the publication of materials on the situation of Christianity on the African continent as one of the most promising.

  9. Members of the Editorial Board and the International Editorial Board of the journal take part in the selection of publications, the editorial policy of the journal, the thematic content of the headings, act as reviewers, and affirm the seal of the next issue of the journal.

  10. Members of the editorial boards of the journal should take an active part in the work and development of the journal, publish their own research, form the headings of the journal, attract leading world scientists to the publication.

  11. The editorial board does not in any way seek to influence the rating of the magazine, artificially increasing its indicators; the editors regard the practice of requiring authors to bring references to the journal as unacceptable. Authors can not be subjected to pressure in order to indicate in the articles references to the journal or to the work of certain members of the editorial board.

  12. The editorial board does not disclose information about authors and articles received from them to other editors. The editorial board preserves the confidentiality of the authors' names from reviewers to the final acceptance of the manuscript into print. The names of reviewers are not disclosed at all. The disclosure of the names of reviewers can only be done at the request of the reviewers themselves.

  13. The editors encourage maximum openness and transparency in the promotion of knowledge contained in published scientific research conducted by the authors and printed on the pages of the journal, which is achievable due to the honesty, integrity and transparency of all participants in the publication.

  14. The editorial staff has the right to request additional information from the authors on the scientific contribution of all co-authors, sources of funding, possible conflicts of interest. In exceptional cases, the editorial board has the right to require the written consent of the co-authors to publish the article in the form submitted to the publication.

  15. The editors adhere to the principles of citing literature, which meets the criteria of scientific character. It is inadmissible in the article to cite sources that can not be regarded as those that helped make a contribution to the research topic.

  16. The editorial staff, at all stages of the review of articles, conducts an analysis of the presence of plagiarism both electronically and by involving more reviewers who are recognized scholars in the subject headings of the journal. The editors pay special attention to the possibility of hiding plagiarism with the help of special software.

  17. Reaction to published research is an important part of the publication activity. The editorial board encourages discussion of published articles and seeks to ensure the possibility of priority publication of articles calling for controversy.

  18. The editors ensure the storage of published articles and free access to their full content on the official website of the magazine. The editorial staff has the right to transfer the archive of the journal for storage to national and international bibliographic databases. The editorial board does not charge a fee for accessing the archive of publications.

  19. In case of revealing significant errors that could be misleading concerning the results of the investigation or the detection of plagiarism, the editorial staff withdraws the published article.

  20. The editors provide a high level of expert evaluation of the article, its unbiased nature, as well as timely receipt of the report from the reviewers. At the same time, the editorial board has the right to reject the article without sending it for review, which may be due to the discrepancy between the article and the editorial policy of the journal, the inadmissibility of the article for the readers of the journal, or the admittedly low quality of the article. In the case of the initial rejection of the article, the editors provide an exhaustive explanation of their decision.


RESPONSIBILITY OF REVIEWERS

  1. Expert evaluation of the manuscript is the basis for the editorial decision on the scientific merit of the study. In case of discrepancies between the opinions of the editorial office and reviewers, the editorial board has the right to attract additional reviewers, which the author is notified about.

  2. The editor-in-chief reviewer, who believes that his qualifications are not sufficient to conduct a full-fledged analysis of the manuscript, should notify the editorial office and refuse the review process.

  3. The manuscript received from the editorial office is confidential. On the part of the reviewer, it is inadmissible to disclose its contents to other persons or to discuss the peer review process with other experts.

  4. The response to the manuscript should be as objective as possible. It is inadmissible for the reviewer to back up criticism with a personal position. For any criticism, the reviewer must propose the necessary argument.

  5. The reviewer should identify incorrect borrowing, the lack of properly issued quotes, and similarities with other works. Reviewers should not show any personal interest in the publication of the manuscripts in question.

  6. The reviewer is obliged to indicate in the response the strengths and weaknesses of the manuscript; if possible, help the author improve his manuscript. The reviewer should remember that the author's article carries the distinctive features of the author's style, the reviewer has no right to demand adherence to the style preferred by him.

  7. Reviewers should not require the inclusion of references to their work in the article.

Этика научных публикаций

Редакция научного журнала «Христианство на Ближнем Востоке» в своей деятельности руководствуется международными стандартами по этике научных публикаций. Порядочность и мониторинг за качеством публикуемых материалов осуществляется редакцией на основании рекомендаций Комитета по этике научных публикаций (Committee on Publication Ethics).

Редакция придерживается принципов прозрачности в отборе статей и сохранения конфиденциальности отзывов рецензентов во избежание возможного конфликта интересов.

Публикация результатов научных исследований включает в себя последовательную работу авторов, редакции и рецензентов. Добросовестный подход трех участников процесса оформления статей может обеспечить высокое качество публикаций, их востребованность и инновационный характер.

ОТВЕТСТВЕННОСТЬ АВТОРОВ

Авторы предлагающие для публикации результаты своих научных исследований должны осознавать, что публикация их рукописи исходит из факта завершенности исследования, его инновационного характера и востребованности как в среде ученых, так и у общества в целом. Публикации могут представлять собой как новые, неизвестные ранее исследования, так и поиски новых формулировок на заявленные ранее научные проблемы, требующие по отношению к себе интенсификации усилий научной общественности.

  1. Исследования должны проводиться при помощи известных науке методов. Если автор прибегает к личному методу исследования, он должен описать его как можно более полно, чтобы данный метод исследования был понятен другим ученым и читателям. Статья должна содержать достаточное количество информации для проверки достигнутых автором результатов.

  2. Авторы несут ответственность за качество, достоверность, полноту представляемых материалов. Непременной обязанностью авторов является обеспечение точности методов и результатов научных изысканий. Заимствования без указания источника расцениваются как плагиат и квалифицируются как неэтичное поведение, что является неприемлемым.

  3. Авторы обязаны честно представлять результаты научных изысканий, избегать фальсификации какой-либо части своего исследования. Научные результаты должны быть представлены четко и недвусмысленно, чтобы позволить понять и использовать их выводы другими учеными.

  4. Исследования должны быть полными, авторы не должны опускать неудобные или противоречивые результаты, которые были достигнуты, даже если они не соответствуют точке зрения авторов, спонсоров исследования и тенденциям конкретного научного направления. Лица и организации, оказывавшие поддержку в проведении исследования не должны накладывать запрет на публикацию научных результатов, которые противоречат их позиции.

  5. В случае обнаружения ошибки в исследовании, не зависимо от того на каком этапе публикации находится рукопись, авторы обязаны незамедлительно уведомить об этом редакцию.

  6. Авторы ответственны за точность цитирования работ других авторов, приведения на них ссылок, использованных при написании статьи. Авторы не должны копировать ссылки из других публикаций. Цитирование какого-либо исследования должно быть сопряжено с личной работой над источником.

  7. Гипотезы, идеи, оригинальные формулировки, созданные другими авторами должны быть приведены в кавычках. Не допустимым является представление научных результатов других ученых, как созданных самостоятельно. 

  8. Новые результаты должны быть представлены в контексте предыдущих исследований других ученых. Прежним исследованиям должна быть дана справедливая оценка. Авторы должны ссылаться на предыдущие исследования не зависимо от того поддерживают они их позицию или нет. В случае выражения несогласия с цитируемой гипотезой, обязательным является представление аргументов, оправдывающих свое несогласие.

  9. Авторы обязаны представить для публикации оригинальные исследования, которые не были опубликованы частично или в целом, в других изданиях и на иных языках. В случае, если работа в том или ином виде была опубликована в печатных или электронных СМИ, монографиях, учебных пособиях или прочитана на конференции, непременной обязанностью авторов является сообщить об этом редакции.

  10. Печать ранее опубликованных работ возможна в исключительных случаях, уместность которой должна быть прояснена читателям со стороны авторов. Если права на исследование были переданы заказчику исследования, издательству или другим лицам, авторы обязаны представить разрешение на осуществление публикации.

  11. Авторы должны соблюдать законы об авторском праве своего государства, Российской Федерации, международные стандарты о соблюдении авторских прав. Авторы должны указать всех соавторов, которые причастны к проведению исследования, заручиться их согласием на публикацию материалов в представленном в редакцию виде. Ответственность за правильное присвоение авторства лежит на авторе, выступающем от имени других соавторов.

  12. Обязательным с точки зрения научной добросовестности является приведение исчерпывающего списка лиц и организаций, оказавших материальную или косвенную поддержку в запуске и завершении исследования; важным представляется раскрытие роли спонсоров.

  13. Авторы должны сотрудничать с редакцией, чтобы исправить опубликованную работу, если ошибки или упущения были обнаружены после публикации.

  14. Авторы должны соответствующим образом отреагировать на комментарии после публикации. Они должны попытаться ответить на критику и дать разъяснения или дополнительные детали там, где это необходимо.

  15. Авторы не должны представлять на рассмотрение результаты своего исследования в более чем одно издательство в одно и то же время.

  16. Авторы обязаны уведомить редакцию, если они снимают (отзывают) с рассмотрения рукопись.

  17. Авторы не должны отвечать на замечания рецензента после получения рекомендации к публикации рукописи с условием предварительного ее исправления.

  18. По просьбе редакции авторы должны предоставить подтверждение, что результаты исследования были получены этичным путем.

  19. Авторы должны помнить, что публикация персональной информации может являться вмешательством в частную жизнь. Идентифицирующие личность данные могут быть опубликованы с согласия упоминаемых в работе лиц или их родственников.

  20. Авторы должны помнить о моральной ответственности за публикуемые исследования.

ОТВЕТСТВЕННОСТЬ РЕДАКЦИИ

Редакция журнала «Христианство на Ближнем Востоке» стремится соответствовать мировым стандартам издательской деятельности, предъявляемым к научным журналам.

Редакция придерживается международной редакторской этики в вопросах сотрудничества с авторами, рецензентами, осуществления публикационной деятельности, корректности и достоверности публикуемых материалов.

Редакция стремится максимальным образом побуждать авторов следовать высоким стандартам подаваемых к публикации рукописям.

Редакция рассматривает себя как часть большого профессионального редакционного сообщества, готова сотрудничать с другими издательствами, ради достоверного отражения проводимых научных исследований в тематических областях журнала.

  1. Редакция журнала «Христианство на Ближнем Востоке» несет ответственность за содержание журнала. Ответственность предполагает наличие целостности статей, соответствие их оформления унифицированной международной практике, предъявляемой к качеству научных публикаций. На всех этапах публикации статей редакция требует от всех их участников высокий уровень этического поведения.

  2. Редакция руководствуется принципами вынесения справедливых и непредвзятых решений в деле осуществления публикации. Отстаивает принципы редакционной независимости и последовательности редакционной политики.

  3. Редакция не принимает решений на основании коммерческих или политических соображений. В отборе поступивших материалов редакция руководствуется принципами академического достоинства, редакционной политикой, рекомендациями рецензентов, целесообразностью наполнения рубрик.

  4. Редакция проявляет активный интерес к сотрудничеству с авторами в написании ими нетривиальных статей. Исследование должно быть востребованным в научном сообществе и иметь инновационное содержание. Редакция всячески стремится побуждать авторов проводить исправление статей, согласно рекомендациям рецензентов.

  5. Редакция не взымает плату с авторов ни за принятие статьи в печать, ни за ускорение ее публикации.

  6. Редакция не выплачивает денежных гонораров.

  7. Редакция журнала стремится стать ведущим изданием в своей предметной области, соответствовать международной издательским стандартам.

  8. Миссия журнала заключается в том, чтобы стать уникальной международной площадкой для публикации исследований о положении христианской религии на Ближнем Востоке со времени ее основания и до настоящего времени. Редакция также рассматривает публикацию материалов о положении христианства на Африканском континенте как одну из наиболее перспективных.

  9. Члены Редакционного совета и Международного редакционного совета журнала принимают участие в отборе публикаций, определении редакционной политики журнала, тематического содержания рубрик, выступают рецензентами, утверждают печать очередного выпуска журнала.

  10. Члены редакционных советов журнала должны принимать активное участие в работе и развитии журнала, опубликовании собственных исследований, формировании рубрик журнала, привлечения к публикации ведущих мировых ученых.

  11. Редакция ни коим образом не стремится влиять на рейтинг журнала, искусственно увеличивая его показатели; редакция расценивает практику требования от авторов приведения ссылок на журнал как недопустимую. Авторы не могут подвергаться давлению с целью указания в статьях ссылок на журнал или на работы отдельных членов редакции.

  12. Редакция не разглашает информацию об авторах и поступивших от них статьях другим редакциям. Редакция сохраняет конфиденциальность имен авторов от рецензентов до окончательного принятия рукописи в печать. При этом имена рецензентов не разглашаются вовсе. Раскрытие имен рецензентов может быть сделано исключительно по требованию самих рецензентов.

  13. Редакция поощряет максимальную открытость и прозрачность в продвижении знаний, содержащихся в публикуемых научных исследованиях, проводимых авторами и напечатанных на страницах журнала, что достижимо благодаря честности, добросовестности и прозрачности всех участников публикации.

  14. Редакция вправе запросить дополнительную информацию от авторов относительно научного вклада всех соавторов, источников финансирования, возможного наличия конфликтов интересов. В исключительных случаях редакция вправе требовать предоставления письменного согласия соавторов на публикацию статьи в представленном к публикации виде.

  15. Редакция придерживается принципов цитирования литературы, которая отвечает критериям научности. Недопустимо в статье цитирование источников, которые не могут расцениваться как те, благодаря которым ранее был внесен вклад в исследуемую научную тему.

  16. Редакция на всех этапах рецензирования статей проводит анализ на наличие плагиата как при помощи электронных средств, так и путем вовлечения большего числа рецензентов, являющихся признанными учеными в тематических рубриках журнала. Редакция обращает особое внимание на возможность сокрытия плагиата при помощи специального программного обеспечения.

  17. Реакция на опубликованные исследования является важной частью публикационной деятельности. Редакция поощряет дискуссию относительно опубликованных статей и стремится обеспечить возможность первоочередной публикации статей, призывающих к полемике.

  18. Редакция обеспечивает хранение опубликованных статей и бесплатный доступ к их полному содержанию на официальном сайте журнала. Редакция вправе передавать архив журнала для хранения в национальные и международные библиографические базы данных. Редакция не взымает плату за доступ к архиву публикаций.

  19. В случае выявления существенных ошибок, способных ввести в заблуждение относительно полученных результатов исследования или обнаружения плагиата редакция отзывает опубликованную статью.

  20. Редакция обеспечивает высокий уровень экспертной оценки статьи, ее непредвзятый характер, а также своевременное получение заключения от рецензентов. При этом редакция вправе отклонить статью, не отправляя ее на рецензирование, причиной чему может быть несоответствие статьи редакционной политике журнала, неприемлемость статьи для читателей журнала или заведомо низкое качество статьи. В случае изначального отклонения статьи редакция предоставляет исчерпывающее объяснение по своему решению.

ОТВЕТСТВЕННОСТЬ РЕЦЕНЗЕНТОВ

  1. Экспертная оценка рукописи является основанием для принятия редакцией решения относительно научного достоинства проведенного исследования. В случае несовпадения мнений редакции и рецензентов, редакция вправе привлечь дополнительных рецензентов, о чем автор ставится в известность.

  2. Избранный редакцией рецензент, который считает, что его квалификации недостаточно для проведения полноценного анализа рукописи должен поставить в известность редакцию и отказаться от процесса рецензирования.

  3. Полученная от редакции рукопись носит конфиденциальный характер. Со стороны рецензента недопустимо разглашать ее содержание другим лицам или обсуждать процесс рецензирования с другими экспертами.

  4. Отзыв на рукопись должен быть максимально объективным. Недопустимо для рецензента подкреплять критику личной позицией. Для любой критики рецензентом должна быть предложена необходимая аргументация.

  5. Рецензент должен выявлять некорректные заимствования, отсутствие надлежащим образом оформленных цитат, сходство с другими работами. Рецензенты не должны проявлять личной заинтересованности в публикации рассматриваемых ими рукописей.

  6. Рецензент обязан указать в отзыве сильные и слабые стороны рукописи; если это возможно, помочь автору улучшить свою рукопись. Рецензент должен помнить, что авторская статья носит отличительные черты стиля ее автора, рецензент не имеет права требовать придерживаться предпочтительного ему стиля.

  7. Рецензенты не должны требовать включить в статью ссылки на свои работы.